The shortlist for best dance act and best dance choreographers at the BEFFTA Awards 2011 was announced earlier this week.

The annual Black Entertainment Film Fashion Television and Arts (BEFFTA) awards celebrate the achievements of black and ethnic personalities in entertainment, film, fashion television and arts.

Update: Tony Adigun (Avant Garde Dance) wins ‘Best Dance Choreographer’ BEFFTA Award 2011

Flawless were voted winners for best dance act in 2009 and Boy Blue Entertainment won the award in 2010.

BEFFTA founder Pauline Long said: “The nomination process is usually lengthy and involves intense research but it’s all worth it, you only have to look at the individuals nominated to see that we are a community of very talented and creative people. A lot of the people that have been nominated work very hard behind the scenes and are very talented, these people need recognition for their contribution in the industry and that’s what BEFFTA is about.”

The BEFFTA Awards 2011 will take place on 22 of October at the Light House.

Voting is now open at

BEFFTA Awards 2011 dance nominations

Best dance act
Akai, Boy Blue Entertainment, Dan-Kira, Definitives, Diversity,  FlawlessRhimes Lecointe.

Best dance choreographer
Anthony Kaye, Douggie Dan-Kira, Glenn Hudson, Johnson (Kid Royal), Kenrick ‘H20’ Sandy, Kwame Knight, Tony Adigun.