The dancer and choreographer award shortlist for the annual BEFFTA Awards 2012 was announced recently naming 13 nominees highlighted for their contributions to dance.

The annual Black Entertainment Film Fashion Television and Arts (BEFFTA) awards celebrate the achievements of black and ethnic personalities in entertainment, film, fashion television and arts.

Each choreographer or company was nominated by the BEFFTA organisers with voting open to the public online via the awards website,

Nominations for the eight dance act and five best choreographer nominees will be open until Saturday 21 October along with nominees in other areas of entertainment.

BEFFTA 2012 Best Dance Act nominees

Boy Blue Entertainment
CEO Dancers
D3 Dancers
High Rollaz
Project G

BEFFTA 2013 Best Dance Choreographer

Ashley Banjo
Kenrick Sandy
Ricardo Gomez
Tony Adigun

Flawless were voted winners for best dance act in 2009 and Boy Blue Entertainment won the award in 2010. In 2011 Dan Kira won best dance act and Tony Adigun won best dance choreographer award, with Got to Dance winner Akai winning a Young Achiever award.

The BEFFTA Awards 2012 will take place at The Hippodrome, Golders Green in London on Saturday 27 October 2012.