step up 4 ever logoA new trailer for Step Up 4 Ever, the sequel to Step Up 3D was released online this week revealing the actors playing the main characters and some of the dancer cast and choreographers.

A Step Up sequel for 2012 was announced in late October 2010, two months after Step Up 3D‘s release, revealing that Wade Robson was to be chief choreographer for Step Up 4 Ever. However, his name doesn’t appear on the latest production credits, shown below, with unverified sources stating that the choreographer dropped out ‘for personal reasons’ to be replaced by Scott Speer.

Jon M Chu, who is also director of the Justin Bieber Never Say Never concert film and The League of Extraordinary Dancers (The LXD) returns as executive producer.

Step Up 4 Ever will take place around Miami Beach, unlike its preceding films which took place in Baltimore and New York.

Video: Step Up 4 Ever Trailer

After launching with a lead single by Flo-Rida, Step Up 3D earned £2.2 million at the UK box office over the weekend of its release and received moderate reviews in the UK press.

Step Up 4 Ever will be released in US cinemas on 27 July 2012 under Summit Entertainment. A UK theatrical release has yet to be announced.

Step Up 4 Ever cast details

Scott Speer

Supervising choreographer
Jamal Sims

Chris Scott, Travis Wall and Chuck Maldonado

Kathryn McCormick, Ryan Guzman, Misha Gabriel Hamilton, Chadd ‘Madd Chadd’ Smith, Tommy Dewey, Cleopatra Coleman, Megan Boone, Phillip ‘Pacman’ Chbeeb and Stephen ‘tWitch’ Boss.